News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Jim Roth

New to the GCA discussion....
« on: May 31, 2023, 09:32:35 PM »
I am new to GCA discussions boards but have been following, reading and studying on here for prob 15yrs..  Looking forward to being a positive and hopefully thoughtful part of the conversation going forward..
About me
49 years old residing in Darien CT
Home clubs:
Woodway Country Club - Since 2016  (current club historian/archivist and sit on G&G committee)
Rockaway Hunting Club Since 2005

I'm a big Willie Park fan and love engaging in discussions about his work which I think is wildly under appreciated stateside.. I also enjoy learning about the origins of Parkland Golf particularly as it relates to the works of Capability Brown..

Anyway, I look forward to engaging in the conversation.

BEst
Jim

« Last Edit: May 31, 2023, 09:40:54 PM by Jim Roth »

mike_malone

Re: New to the GCA discussion....
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2023, 10:05:11 PM »
Welcome Jm!

15 years is a short apprenticeship though!!

You probably know about how Philmont CC in Philly was believed to be a Flynn for so long. It was probably because it was good. We now embrace it as Willie Park.
AKA Mayday

Matt Schoolfield

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2023, 03:24:44 AM »
Welcome, I’m still a bit new too.
Building an encyclopedia of golf courses that anyone can edit: Golf Course Wiki
Some strong opinions on golf: Wigs on the Green
I really think golf culture should be more like beer culture than wine culture

Tim Martin

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2023, 08:09:22 AM »
Jim-Welcome to the board. I don’t know if you have played New Haven CC or Shuttle Meadow CC but they are both terrific Willie Park efforts in your home state. The original nine holes out of the current 27 at Tumblebrook CC in Bloomfield is also from Park and worth seeing.

mark chalfant

« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2023, 11:02:58 AM »
Hello Jim,