News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Thomas Dai

Why have mowing lines evolved …
« on: May 31, 2023, 03:48:02 AM »
Why do so many fairway mowing lines converge and bottle-neck at the front of greens?

atb
« Last Edit: May 31, 2023, 07:10:05 AM by Thomas Dai »

Sean_A

Re: Why do mowing lines ...
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2023, 03:59:51 AM »
Why do so many fairway mowing lines converge and bottle-neck at the front of greens?

atb

I have been asking this question since about 1995. The only answer I ever received is because folks like the way it looks. My whole life the look of a skinny fairway between fronting greenside bunkers on an uphill hole has been THE US parkland look...especially Midwest and Northeast. That said, I have seen the odd fairway mowed around bunkers and it does look odd, probably because it's so unusual. Usually this look works well if the fairway is cut for quite some distance around the green. If the fairway is cut a few yards around the bunkers to match the cut around the green it looks a highly artificial cut line which doesn't match the grade of the terrain.

Ciao
New plays planned for 2024: Dunfanaghy, Fraserburgh, Hankley Common, Ashridge, Gog Magog Old & Cruden Bay St Olaf

Ben Hollerbach

Re: Why have mowing lines evolved …
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2023, 08:37:55 AM »
Even on courses with wide, expansive fairways, its not uncommon to see features such as bunkers and mounding that create a more natural bottleneck to the entrance of the green. It would seem that overtime the grass lines were brought in to mimic the presence of these features, creating a similar challenge to a running ball trying to reach the green, without the feature needing to be present.