News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Sean_A

2022 Lake Michigan Tour - 1 LAWSONIA LINKS 1-4
« on: September 18, 2022, 08:08:26 PM »

The attractive new logo seems to be replacing the previous version.

Given the similar design styles, there has been long-standing questions about the influence of CB Macdonald and Raynor on the design team of William Langford & Theodore Moreau. It is known that as Yale & Columbia student Langford (played on the Yale golf team) at least saw courses such as NGLA and Piping Rock. Additionally, Moreau was by trade a civil engineer, just as Seth Raynor was when working with Macdonald. The similarities continue when we consider that L&M and Raynor were not adverse to shifting land to achieve their goals. Perhaps it is best if the answer is never known, but it does seem outlandish to think that the two teams came up with nearly identical design styles completely independent of each other.

Langford & Moreau initiated their partnership in Chicago during 1918. Most of their 200ish designs are in the Midwest and unusually for premier architects, a large number are publicly accessible courses…often in small towns. Well, I visited a quintessential small town in the guise of Green Lake, Wisconsin and very attractive it is. At a depth of over 200 feet, Green Lake is the deepest natural inland lake in Wisconsin. The population is under 1000, but Green Lake is well known as a summer holiday destination…the town is not short of money. There is even an Opera House which showcases all sorts of events.