News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Bill Seitz

Arroyo Seco in Pasadena has been around for a long time. Played many nighttime rounds there back in the late 80s while in college. Nothing special about any of the holes but it was always crowded back then.
http://www.arroyosecogc.com/

I started playing at age 8 or 9 and played there and Arcadia par 3 almost exclusively until I started playing "big" courses when I was about 13.  Great places to learn the game.  Arroyo Seco was the nicer of the two. 

Mike Hendren

Why not bump up a few small greens on the range and offer pitch and putt during certain hours?

When it opened Quintero featured 9 smallish greens on the range that were tightly mowed -nothing else. Zero maintenance costs.  The first hole teed at one end of the range teeing area and played to its other end.

Or how about a public park with play each weekday morning until noon?
Two Corinthians walk into a bar ....

A.G._Crockett

In this morning’s local newspapers, it has been announced that 401 Golf will be closing soon, replaced by a multi use residential and commercial development. 401 Golf has been open since 1972, and the driving range is the one shown in the movie “Bull Durham”.

401 Golf occupies 72 acres south of Raleigh, NC, in unincorporated Wake County.  There is a driving range, a putt-putt course, and a “9 hole par 3 pitch and putt” course (their words) with holes ranging from 50 to 115 yards. 401 sells monthly memberships, and the walk up rate to play the par 3 range from $6 to $9 depending on the day of the week and time of day.

There is also a golf school and a pro shop,as well as a food and beverage operation, and, by all accounts, business has boomed since the beginning of the pandemic in 2020.

The sale price for the site hasn’t been announced, nor has the timeline for either the closing or construction.