News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Peter Pratt

Mike DeVries and Walnut Hills
« on: April 18, 2003, 08:17:35 AM »
Mike, I drive by Walnut Hills in East Lansing, MI every day and see from a distance the work you're doing on the bunkers. Can you tell us mid-Michigan fans of your work what you're up to at Walnut? Thanks!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by 1056376800 »

David Wigler

Re: Mike DeVries and Walnut Hills
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2003, 08:20:47 AM »
Mike,

Please take lots of before and after pictures.
And I took full blame then, and retain such now.  My utter ignorance in not trumpeting a course I have never seen remains inexcusable.
Tom Huckaby 2/24/04

Mike_DeVries

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2003, 04:54:29 PM »
Peter,

I have been consulting at the club for a few years now.  We started out with a Long Range plan for the club and are using that as a basis for improvements / corrections / renovation / restoration of the course.  The intent of the plan is to retain the old country club feel of the course and instill those virtues of traditional golf into any work on the course.  It is a good property, with plenty of challenge for the better club players (3 of the par 3's are over 200 yards, for example), and only suffers from a lack of water movement during big storms -- that is not an easy, nor inexpensive, fix.