News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Malcolm Mckinnon

Humpin and HeavIn on the InterLeven!!
« on: May 31, 2018, 10:28:00 PM »
Just got a message from Mike Malone (Mayday) on aftermath his round at Leven Links. Loved it!!

He liked it! Crazy land undulations on sandy soil by the sea seduce with wind off the North Sea and Forth River ever a factor, not to mention the Largo Law looming over it all!

For years I studied the links of Scotland. Bought Robert Price's book on Scotland's Golf Courses, etc. But kept coming back to thinking that perhaps the most fun links land I have seen is the Interleven.

Not a sea barrier dunes at all. Just sandy humpy, bumpy, gorsey, crazy terrain that is easily walkable with a bit of Old Tom Morris and James Braid tossed in.

You leave from town out to the links and return back again.

Perfection!!

Marty Bonnar

Re: Humpin and HeavIn on the InterLeven!!
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2018, 08:13:07 AM »
Malcolm,
Not Interleven, but Innerleven, although that course is long gone:
http://www.golfsmissinglinks.co.uk/index.php/scotland-63/scotland-central-east/fife/1408-sco-innerleven-golf-club-fife
Nice post though and I’m glad that Mayday enjoyed it!
Leven is a good, not great golf course, spoiled by the deeply-flawed routing. Maybe one day, it might be reunited with Lundie over the wall and one of Scotland’s very best golf courses would be reborn.
Not holding my breath, though...!
Cheers,
F.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2018, 08:17:42 AM by Marty Bonnar »
The White River runs dark through the heart of the Town,
Washed the people coal-black from the hole in the ground.

Malcolm Mckinnon

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2018, 08:53:18 PM »
Agreed Marty and Cheers!