News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Derek_Duncan

Hard to get a good sense of the actual contour from these photos but so far YAS is kicking its ass.

Derek,

Both courses have a lot of contour, mainly it's the dune-like containment mounding used at YAS that adds to the visual I think. Why do you think YAS is kicking ass on the other. I'd be quite interested to hear your thoughts here.

In terms of the photos, other than the fact that I'm a rubbish photographer with my iPhone as I'm playing think about how difficult it is to get a feeling for a place like Augusta when you see it on TV or in the photos. I don't honestly know how to bring that out but these courses are anything but flat and without contour.

Anyone else agree/disagree with Derek?

David,

That's not a criticism of your photography. I know it's hard to capture contour and depth digitally -- I'm not very capable of it either.

YAS has the appearance of grander ground contour and space, with more minimal bunkering -- bunkering that matters. The holes have a more natural look, like they could exist somewhere not the desert. The greens also appear to have more variety and interest.

I'm thrown a little by all the "waste areas" at Trump. It comes off as landscaping. The holes seem more fussy and designed. And the two water holes early on just killed me. They read South Florida.

It's hard to tell beyond your descriptions what strategic problems the holes pose, so I'm basing my thoughts on how the holes are presented.
www.feedtheball.com -- a podcast about golf architecture and design
@feedtheball

David Davis

I understand the tension keeps building and it's near killing y'all so without further ado...

YAS Links 9th hole - 428 yds par 4.

However please note on this hole that in the afternoon I played from the 481 yds tee. Normal wind is behind and I made a 3 ;-) The tee shot from the back tees is in my view a much better and more interesting shot.