News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Greg Smith

Feng Shui concepts in golf architecture?
« on: August 05, 2017, 02:06:51 PM »
I've been reading a book about Feng Shui lately, and I'm thinking it probably has some applications in GCA.

I'm an oncology nurse these days, but way before that my original degree was in architecture (the regular kind, not LAr).  Back then I don't recall Feng Shui ever being discussed in the studio, and I don't recall it being specifically discussed here either.

When I think of Feng Shui issues, I think there's an impact on how things "feel" -- in buildings, in gardens, and on the golf course.  We talk a lot around here about good features placed for concrete strategic reasons, perhaps poorly placed features (placed for penal reasons?), and even about features placed/landforms used for visual reasons (or visual deception).

What about physical features on a golf course that are useless strategically, but nevertheless have a positive impact psychologically/spiritually/emotionally?

The classic example I can think of is the set of bunkers just in front of the tee on St. Germain's par-five sixth.  They're no more than 100 yards off the tee (heck, from the forward tee you can kick it over) -- but they break up (enliven/give reference to) what would otherwise be a long, flat field of grass.  For almost all players, those bunkers have absolutely no strategic or punitive use -- but they're fun to carry.  Harry Colt thought to put them there, and we usually trust his judgement.

I submit that Colt placed the bunkers for a very Feng-Shui-like reason.   The Eastern spiritualists talk about "chi energy"...  maybe a golf hole has chi?   It seems reasonable to me.  I wonder what the ODGs would say.
O fools!  who drudge from morn til night
And dream your way of life is wise,
Come hither!  prove a happier plight,
The golfer lives in Paradise!