News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Matt Waidmann

Tom Doak's "Anatomy of a Golf Course"
« on: April 04, 2015, 11:11:19 AM »
Came across this book while cleaning the house today.  Forgot I had it, but when I was younger and wanting to immerse myself in how to build a golf course this book was my bible.  Really great illustrations of some of the best golf holes in the world.  For a teenager, this was a great education and helped fuel my passion for golf course architecture.  I'm sure there's been a thread on this book before, but did this book help influence anyone else's views? 

Peter Pallotta

Re: Tom Doak's "Anatomy of a Golf Course"
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2015, 11:45:54 AM »
Matt -- I'm no expert, but to me "Anatomy" is the single best and most cohesive primer about gca available. Ever since I read it, I've had this lurking question in the back of my mind, i.e. why do I continue to read and/or post on gca.com when anything relevant that can be meaningfully read or said about the subject has already been said (and read) in that book?

That's one of the reasons I do so much 'beard pulling' on here, i.e. it is the one aspect/approach that TD managed to avoid! What's left for me now is to ask questions like: "What are the Top 100 Courses (Modern) from the Perspective of Astronauts in a Space Station who have just ingested Mushrooms after having immersed themselves in Post-Jungian Transpersonal Psychology"....for whatever that's worth

Peter

« Last Edit: April 04, 2015, 11:53:11 AM by PPallotta »

Thomas Dai

« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2015, 12:06:21 PM »
When my son expressed a bit of interest in how golf courses were designed and built the first book I passed to him to read was..........TD's 'Anatomy of a golf course'. A belated thank you to TD for writing it!
Atb

Tom_Doak

« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2015, 09:02:26 PM »