News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Benjamin Litman

A New Year, A New Member
« on: January 04, 2015, 03:19:44 PM »
For my inaugural Golf Club Atlas post, I figured I'd introduce myself and include several of my favorite golf-course pictures from my trips to date. I will post more individualized comments and photo tours (i.e., regarding specific courses) in the future, including my thoughts on and pictures of Streamsong, which I had the pleasure of playing over the course of the last week (two rounds on Red, three rounds on Blue).

But let me start by thanking Ran, whose course reviews and other writings I have admired for years, for registering me. I also have to thank my good friend David Normoyle, whom many of you know, for putting me in touch with Ran in the first place.

I am an attorney in New York City, where I also grew up. Following nearly seven years at a private law firm, I recently transitioned to the public-interest world and now practice appellate criminal-defense law. So, yes, I write a lot and often and have a penchant for proper language usage. I picked up golf relatively late, when I was a senior at Yale; with organized team sports behind me, I needed an outlet to maintain my competitive edge, and the allure of nature sold me. My best friend handed me down his old set of clubs and took me out to The Course at Yale. I'm not sure there is a better place to learn the game or the architecture that animates it. That collection of 18 holes remains not only my favorite golf course, but one of my favorite places in the world. I have since played many, many rounds and taken multiple golf trips (to Wales and England in 2009, to Scotland in 2012, and to California, Australia, and Streamsong (i.e., not-Florida Florida) in 2014). Along the way, I have read and relied heavily on the course reviews and discussion-board comments here on Golf Club Atlas, so I am excited to join you today.