News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

nperiod

Save The Ponce de Leon a 1916 Donald Ross
« on: April 21, 2003, 03:44:46 PM »
I am a layman in the area of golf history and I come to this knowledgeable group in hopes of helping to save the old Ponce de Leon golf course in St. Augustine, Florida from demolition.
A little backgound...
Consultants hired by the demolisher / developer maintain that
modifications to the course through the years (shortening holes, remounding and expanding greens, eliminating three holes from play(they are a practice course) and adding three
new ones and changing the circulation of the course) have destroyed its historic integrity.  The Donald Ross Society maintains the strategic set up is as relevant as it was when originally designed by Ross eighty-five yrs ago.  

It was pointed out by Jamie Duffner in a post that there is a distinction "between changing a feature and altering a design intent". From this board I have gotten the impression feature
changes to older courses are very common but it is the design that makes an authentic Donald Ross.

Can anyone expand on these thoughts?

I realize this is a wide open question but what I am asking for is a beginning history /design lesson.

Thank you for your time and interest.

SAVE THE PONCE!

Nancy Sikes-Kline
St. Augustine, Florida

« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:04 PM by -1 »

Steve_L.

Re: Save The Ponce de Leon a 1916 Donald Ross
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2003, 07:27:34 PM »
This was discussed in some detail awhile back...  It's a shame - the original Ross layout mostly exists, just needs to be unearthed and put back in place.  

It's a gorgeous site and the golf course has a wonderful history and once had a beautiful clubhouse (burned in the '70's as I understand).