News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Brett Wiesley

Playing a Classic when you never knew it
« on: December 31, 2013, 06:40:58 PM »
I'm new to the serious study of golf architecture (although, still a recreational hobby), and have read a lot about many of the great classic architects.  When doing so, it makes you yearn to play some of their courses, but lament to find out many of them do not exist, or if they do, remain in the hands of private clubs.  Not to be openly shared.  However, you may find a gem, or in my case realize later that a course you played in the past was actually one of the classic architects.  

In this circumstance the course is Capital Hills at Albany, NY.  This is a municipal course, which by all means appears to have always been so.  It was originally designed by Devereux Emmet, and has had some revisions since then.  I always remember my time as a medical resident in Albany, using any spare time to play this course.  Always coming away noting it was a cool course, and great layout.  Not really realizing what that all meant until now.  I'd suggest anyone in the upstate NY area check this course out.  It won't set you back much, ~$50 and is a great opportunity to see a classic routing by Devereux Emmet.  

Tom_Doak

Re: Playing a Classic when you never knew it
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2014, 02:07:41 PM »
I had the same experience when I played Leatherstocking GC in Cooperstown with my brother, many years ago.  I was 20 and didn't know who Dev Emmet was; but it only took about three holes to see that it was a really cool course.

JMEvensky

« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2014, 02:12:36 PM »

I had the same experience when I played Leatherstocking GC in Cooperstown with my brother, many years ago.  I was 20 and didn't know who Dev Emmet was; but it only took about three holes to see that it was a really cool course.