News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Todd Melrose

Chambers Bay Golf trip with pictures
« on: December 06, 2012, 02:49:08 AM »
This past summer a group of us went up to play Chambers Bay- this is my first time posting pics here and I wanted to share some of it. Really had a great time- course was challenging yet fun. At the end of the day we were pretty exhausted from all the walking (no carts allowed here) and particularly if you hit into the brush which can quickly turn into a hiking adventure- but you'll come out with some great stories!

Having done the Bandon trip last December, this is the other course people talk about in the NW so I was looking forward to seeing if it lived up to the hype. We joked around that the staff here must get annoyed with all the "Bandon" comparisons (they are definitely different from one another) but for those of you who have played Bandon, you do end up discussing the differences. There are truly incredibly views of Puget Sound all around but also a very natural-feeling course. The course was in great shape, and we were happy to see the greens were rolling pretty fast (we had heard prior they weren't in the best of shape). Spendy little round ($200+ i believe) but by the end of the day, I felt like I got my money's worth. I'd also definitely recommend getting a forecaddie for your first round- plenty of "I think we should aim here" shots only to finish the hole and realize we'd have played it differently.

The weather as you'll see below was absolutely perfect- but it was fun to try and imagine how this course will play for the US Open and seeing what shots the Pro's will need to make here, particularly if it gets windy off the water.

Enjoy!

Here is an overview of the course from the top of the hill, with the Olympic mountain range in the far distance: