News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Steven Blake

New Member Introduction
« on: April 11, 2012, 05:52:33 PM »
I have been following this site for several years now and actually have been a member for sometime but have not really posted anything or given myself an introduction ... so here it goes...
I am currently the head golf course Superintendent at Ridgeway Country Club in Neenah, Wisconsin.  I graduated from Rutgers University 2004 with GCA contributor Joey Chase.  Before working at Ridgeway I was the Assistant Superintendent at North Shore Golf Club in Menasha and before that I was the Assistant Superintendent at Milwaukee Country Club in River Hills, Wisconsin.  I love golf course architecture and golf in general.  I obviously like discussing architecture and turfgrass maintenance.  I am very fortunate to have worked at some great courses and for two of the best Superintendents in the business Scott Schaller @ NSGC and Pat Sisk @ MCC.  I must say I have read most golf course architecture books but do not really get a chance to play as much golf.  My goal is that when I do play golf to play some really great places.
My top 10 favorite golf courses in Wisconsin are (and I admit I’m biased):
Milwaukee Country Club
North Shore Golf Club
Bluemond Country Club
Pine Hills Country Club (Sheboygan)
Oneida Country Club
Lawsonia Links
Whistling Straits (Straits)
Blackwolf Run (Composite)
Stevens Point Country Club
Bullseye Country Club