News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Patrick_Mucci

Not to bring up a sore subject, but,
« on: September 28, 2010, 07:59:58 PM »
I was just reading the Merion Golf Club's official website and noticed that their official position agrees with mine regarding the 3rd hole.

The website says the following:

"Wilson admitted that his concepts sprang from the holes he'd seen in Scotland and England.
The 3rd hole was inspired by North Berwick's 15th hole (the Redan)"

I've been saying this for over 40 years, and yet have been villified about my position by the likes of Wayne Morrison, TEPaul and Mike Cirba.

So why are they in disagreement with me and in conflict with Merion's official position ?

Am I entitled to an apology ? ;D

Garland Bayley

Re: Not to bring up a sore subject, but,
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2010, 08:33:15 PM »
Patrick,

If you were a little more generous with apologies yourself, then perhaps some might come your way.

BTW

Congratulation on the Mountain Lake(sic) ;D event.
"I enjoy a course where the challenges are contained WITHIN it, and recovery is part of the game  not a course where the challenge is to stay ON it." Jeff Warne

mark chalfant

« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2010, 08:38:18 PM »
Patrick,

iI dont think any of the main line Wilson experts owe you an apology.  However  I tihnk they should serve  2 weeks in the Eastern State Jail  (near the art museum) It has a bldg with arcihtectural  and historic merit. The cells  are spacious and airy.....plus the light in the courtyard  is ambient, so folks can review their documents in good light  !!

Mike Cirba

« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2010, 08:59:15 PM »
Patrick,

Where have you been??   This one was decided a long, long time back.

Were you busy planning an event or something?  ;)  ;D

In any case, here's what Merion co-designer Richard Francis has to say about the creation of the redan hole at Merion;

JNC Lyon