News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Don_Mahaffey

Comprehensive Design
« on: April 24, 2002, 10:09:31 PM »
OK, I'm a little new to critiquing golf course architecture. I've spent most of my time on the course worrying about the turf or trying to find my ball so I never spent too much time studying the architecture.

But, in the last year or two I've spent a lot of time studying the courses I play and trying to see as many different courses as I can. One thing I've noticed is bunkering styles and how architects use various styles to either fit the land they are working with or differentiate their course from the one across the street. One style in particular that seems to be very popular is the "natural" or rugged look. Sharp Augusta like edges are out and the rugged, "there was already a hole in the ground so I filled it with sand" look is in. Brand new bunkers are being built to look like they've been there forever. I like the look so I have no complaints, but I do have a question? If that is the look of the bunkers, shouldn't the rest of the course look like that too? If the bunkers are irregular and random, should some of the features that are turfed also be irregular and random? I keep seeing new courses that have these bunkers, but really you could take them out and insert an Augusta like bunker and it would look like it belonged because the rest of the course is perfectly smooth with nice lines that flow together. Shouldn't there be some sharp lines and unbroken flow. Places where the super shakes his head and wonders how he is supposed to mow that! Rugged, natural looking bunkers on a course where everything is perfectly smoothed out looks a little incongruous to me. Anyone else out there see the same thing?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:04 PM by -1 »

RJ_Daley

Re: Comprehensive Design
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2002, 10:20:09 PM »