News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Robert Mercer Deruntz

A hidden gem of a Redan
« on: June 05, 2009, 06:51:24 PM »
this is the 180 yard 3rd hole at Silver Spring in Ridgefield, CT

Patrick_Mucci

Re: A hidden gem of a Redan
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2009, 06:58:06 PM »
RMD,

I loved the golf course, except for how they wrecked some of the holes when they violently injected the Tennis Facilities.

Lenny Polakoff

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2009, 07:18:47 PM »
This is my first post. I was a PGA professional but have not been in the business for over 10 years.  Silver Spring was actually my first assistants job.  What a great little golf course this is.

Bill_McBride

« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2009, 07:19:51 PM »
Robert, do you think there's enough front to back and right to left tilt to qualify this as a true "Redan?"

David Druzisky

« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2009, 08:38:23 PM »
Is there a bunker beyond right?

Does the surface sweep up that high on the right at all?

Robert Mercer Deruntz

« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2009, 10:10:58 PM »
I should have shot more pictures of the hole that day.  I have several negatives from different angles, but it will be a while until  they can be converted to digital.   The far left part of the green is actually a good foot or two below the top of the bunker.  There is good right to left movement on the green.  Though Peter is a grass growing genius, he does not maintain the course like NGLA, and was very happy with the Rulwich work on #7 because of the drainage and agronomical quality.  Because of maintenance practices, the kicker does not work like it should; however, this should not take away from the quality of the hole's architecture.

George_Bahto

« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2009, 11:40:40 AM »