News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

John Handley

Is golf in England under marketed?
« on: September 20, 2023, 02:11:54 PM »
I posted a while back about a trip I am planning for England next year. I have not played golf in England but have been to Ireland and Scotland 5-6x each. Many of the responses I received talked about how good the golf is in England and is possibly/probably better than Ireland and/or Scotland.

So, since then, I have proceeded to do a ton of research over the past couple of months and feel like I have a pretty good sense of golf in England (that is without actually playing, so no I am not an expert).  But it did make me think, Ireland and Scotland do a great job of marketing themselves to Americans, especially.  Many guys from my clubs and friends of friends go to Ireland/Scotland but few have been to England for golf.

Which leads me to my question, is golf tourism under marketed in England?  Is there the same set up where clubs make much of their operating budget from visitors to keep costs low for members? Or, like US clubs, are they more about the members and just allow some visitors?

I know there are England Golf experts in this forum so I would love to hear your thoughts......
2024 Line Up: Spanish Oaks GC, Cal Club, Cherokee Plantation, Huntercombe, West Sussex, Hankley Common, Royal St. Georges, Sunningdale New & Old, CC of the Rockies, Royal Lytham, Royal Birkdale, Formby, Royal Liverpool, Swinley Forest, St. George's Hill, Berkshire Red, Walton Heath Old, Austin GC

Sean_A

Re: Is golf in England under marketed?
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2023, 02:19:51 PM »