News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Ryan Farrow

Architects and GIS
« on: January 15, 2007, 10:03:47 PM »
I may or may not take a class in geographic information systems. A question for the architects; how often do you use this kind of tool and what benefits are there to knowing how to use/understand GIS.

This is a description of the class:

Learn essential GIS concepts
- Learn ESRI’s ArcGIS 9.1 software
- Learn applications of GIS as it is used to
support landscape architecture and planning
- Develop your own GIS application related to
your area of interest

Matt Kardash

Re:Architects and GIS
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2007, 10:10:39 PM »
Hah!
This is quite amusing to me since I am an Environmental Science student. I have taken a GIS course in the past and have used both ESRI and ArcGIS. This semester I am taking an advanced course in GIS. I'm not an architect but I would imagine GIS might be helpful in choosing a property to build a course on.
the interviewer asked beck how he felt "being the bob dylan of the 90's" and beck quitely responded "i actually feel more like the bon jovi of the 60's"

paul cowley

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2007, 10:19:23 PM »
Ryan ....I find it increasingly more useful in the post building phase or for measurement analysis [as built stuff].....it is really beneficial to have that info when needed.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2007, 04:39:26 AM by paul cowley »
paul cowley...golf course architect/asgca

Mike Nuzzo

« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2007, 05:01:54 PM »
Disclaimer - I have never taken a GIS course, but I have designed part of an antenna for a GPS satellite...  :)

My definition of GIS - the As-built or the site conditions maps.  They are a combination of GPS (usually) data compiled and presented in a easily readable form.

If you had a site plan with wetlands, vegetation, easements and resourses delineated it would help to understand how the data got there.