News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

W.H. Cosgrove

SW Ireland Gems
« on: October 17, 2006, 12:19:28 PM »
Planning a trip to SW Ireland next year.  Group is convinced Lahinch, Ballybunion, Old Head are the ONLY places to go.  

Any ideas on off the beaten track courses to blow their minds?
« Last Edit: October 17, 2006, 01:28:32 PM by W.H. Cosgrove »

Ally Mcintosh

Re:SW Ireland Gems
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2006, 12:29:02 PM »
i'm not an expert on the south west but killarney is definitely worth a visit if you fancy a break from the links (especially now the killeen course has been upgraded)...

links-wise, waterville is a great course, there are lots of doonbeg fans and tralee is spectacular (although i know some are not fans)... lesser known traditional links courses that are supposedly lovely include dooks and ceann sibeal (dingle)...

does this help at all?... too simplified?

W.H. Cosgrove

« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2006, 01:25:02 PM »
Simple is good.

Simple answers for a simple man! 8)

Sean Leary

« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2006, 01:29:38 PM »
Cos, please tell me you aren't going to need a break from links courses.

Old Head is definitely worth playing, no matter what some people here may think of it as a golf course.

W.H. Cosgrove

« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2006, 01:46:46 PM »
No Break from Links required!!  Just trying to get off the beaten path a little.  

Darren_Kilfara

« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2006, 02:22:52 PM »
Old Head is SE Ireland, not SW Ireland, isn't it?

Geoffrey Childs

« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2006, 02:26:10 PM »
Cos

I can't help you with the Southwest but I can assure you that if you start at Lahinch, head up to Ballybunion and then make a run up the Northwest coast you will have some spectacular golf and scenery.

Enniscrone
Conamara
Rosses Point
Donegal
Carne
Ballylifin
Rosapana
Portsalon

finish up at Royal Portrush and you have a great trip.