News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Joel_Stewart

Aerators.  Which is best, core or hydrojet?
« on: November 01, 2002, 06:11:24 PM »
I'm a novice, not in the golf business but am trying to learn.  

With that said, I played NGLA two weeks ago, just 2 days after they had aerated the greens.  They used what I understand was a hydrojet system, forcing water into the ground creating holes and then filling them with sand.  The greens putted almost perfect thus my question for you green committee and supers, why do some courses use hydrojet and others the standard core aerators?  Which is best?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by 1056376800 »

RDecker

Re: Aerators.  Which is best, core or hydrojet?
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2002, 06:41:15 PM »
Joel,
I'll try to answer your question a little bit anyway.  Hydrojecting and traditional Core cultivation are both valuable cultural practices used by Superintendents to help relieve compaction and remove thatch build up on greens as well as other playing surfaces.  Core cultivation or traditional aeration (same thing) is still the best way to reduce compaction and also allows the super the ability to amend the soil profile with topdressing or other soil amendments if they chose.  The downside to this practice is that it takes a green on average about 2-3 weeks to heal fully from aeration.  Hydrojecting on the other hand is more of a quick fix type of procedure, sometimes you can lightly topdress afterward but usually the holes are too small to get alot of material down in.  The upside of hydroject though is that the green is playable immediately after and usually nobody can even tell it was done.  Ideally the Super will use a combination of these two in addition to deeptine aeration, verticutting and light topdressings to maintain and manage the greens.

PGertner

« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2002, 03:57:41 PM »
Just one super's opinion: