News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Adrian_Stiff

Re: A week in GB&I playing the same course..
« Reply #25 on: October 14, 2019, 11:38:39 AM »
Nowhere is much fun in January. Agree S/E is best though if it were me I'd do to St Andrews and play as many of those with a solitary stay rather than one course.

Hard to know your budget though.
A combination of whats good for golf and good for turf.
The Players Club, Cumberwell Park, The Kendleshire, Oake Manor, Dainton Park, Forest Hills, Erlestoke, St Cleres.
www.theplayersgolfclub.com

Darragh Garrahy

« Reply #26 on: October 14, 2019, 03:05:03 PM »

Emailed St E yesterday and will let you know.

Ideal would be Rye or Cinque Ports, but I'm trying to get somewhere where I wouldn't know members and would be able to play every day on my own. I've never done it before- always feel so rushed flying from Dublin to Gatwick and getting the the rental car to go somewhere for two quick rounds of foursomes for a society or club match (doing exactly that at Burnham & B this Thurs!).

Great suggestions so far in this thread; will fleshs them out and keep updated.

"Thinking of somewhere like St Enodoc."

Darragh -

Have you checked with St. Enodoc? Will they offer you a weekly ticket?

West Cornwall GC offers a Country Membership for under 230 pounds, but I have not played there and don't know if the course is interesting enough to entertain you for a week.

DT

P.S. My guess is a good number of clubs will be willing for offer you some sort of weekly ticket for a visit in January even if they don't offer one on their website. It wouldn't hurt to contact the Club Secretary and ask.

P.P.S. Machrihanish GC is charging a winter green fee of 35 pounds. You could go there and have the option of playing Machrihanish Dunes at their winter green fee rate of 40 pounds.

https://www.machgolf.com/rates/
http://machrihanishdunes.com/golf/golf-rates/

Thomas Dai