News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Jonathan Cummings

Teaching Advice
« on: December 12, 2004, 07:44:21 AM »
A friend of mine is a beginning golfer.  He's played 9 holes about a half dozen times and struggles to shoot under 70!

Anyway, he asked me last night at a party if there is a good 2-3 day school for beginners antwhere in the country that I could recommend (money isn't too much of an issue).  I told him I had no idea but thought a series of private lessons with a local pro would be just as effective.

Thoughts and recommendations?

JC

Dan_Callahan

Re:Teaching Advice
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2004, 10:07:04 AM »
I am a self-taught golfer and was never a big proponent of lessons. With all the videos, books, and magazines out there, it would seem you could, with practice, develop a pretty sound game on you own.

However, I was sent to the Golf Digest School at Cranwell Resort (in Lenox, Mass) to write a profile for a magazine. I spent only one day there (they have a number of multi-day packages) and was thoroughly impressed. The practice facilities are exceptional, and I came away with a video tape of my swing from three different angles. The instructor, Keith Lyford, recorded his comments on the tape, and included side-by-side comparisons of my swing against Tiger, David Love, and Bob Tway. Itt is humbling to say the least to see your swing in slow motion. Moving parts all over the place, loss of posture, casting at the top, hands flipping through impact, etc.

I got much worse for a few weeks after the lesson, but since then have chopped seven strokes off my handicap (from a 12 to a 5).

The instructor, Keith Lyford, is no longer there (I think he opened a school in Arizona?), and that is a key. The facilities are very important, but the instructor is what will make the lesson. A great pro with a video camera and a range will beat an average pro with the best facilities in the world.

Theresa Stotler