News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Adam_F_Collins

Just how "important" is GCA.com?
« on: December 10, 2004, 09:27:11 AM »
This may seem like an odd question, but I thought I'd throw it out there and see what people thought. And of course, as with so many threads - it's probably been discussed before. I live in relative isolation up here in terms of the world of GCA and the people on this website are all known to me only as names and messages.

As many of you know, I am quite new to this subject. My interest most certainly stems from my obsession with golf, combined with my interest in design. To me, GCA is pretty much my only place to discuss this topic.

Once I began to search for books on the subject of GCA, and discovered how hard they were to come by - it seemed odd, given the fact that so many people play the game and have opinions about the designs. Finding this website was a great discovery for me, as it provides up-to-the-minute dialogue on the subject, and most strikingly - makes no structural distinction between the professional architect and the interested/opinionated novice. This is a great strength. As I have begun to think more about golf course architecture in relation to history and culture, it seems to me that the realm of golf plays a role which has yet to be fully recognized by those outside the game - (or in many cases, the religion)

I could be crazy, but taking part in the discussions on this board feels...I don't know...'important' to golf history...

Does anyone else feel this way?

THuckaby2

Re:Just how "important" is GCA.com?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2004, 09:36:06 AM »
Adam:

Personally, no.  To me this is all just fun.  The day I find it important in terms of culture or religion is the day I swear it off forever.

But rest assured others do see it changing the golf world.

TH

ian

« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2004, 10:17:28 AM »