News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Michael Dugger

working with the land & discovering golf holes
« on: January 28, 2003, 11:43:44 AM »
In a few short and simple sentences, what does this mean to you when it comes to GCA.  Please be creative.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by 1056376800 »
What does it matter if the poor player can putt all the way from tee to green, provided that he has to zigzag so frequently that he takes six or seven putts to reach it?     --Alistair Mackenzie--

Tim Weiman

Re: working with the land & discovering golf holes
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2003, 11:52:03 AM »
mdugger:

I'm no expert, but I think it means studying what the property offers and trying to imagine golf holes without resorting to massive earth movement.

For an excellent illustration, check out the before and after pictures of #9 at Cypress Point as presented in Geoff Shackelford's "Alister MacKenzie's Cypress Point Club". Page 42 has the "before"; page 120 has an "after" shot.

RJ_Daley

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2003, 12:36:07 PM »