News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Andy Hodson

How long is this course?
« on: April 12, 2004, 02:14:05 PM »
Following I will give average approach shots that I hit on the golf course where I work. It is a well maintained golf course, but I would not say we have reached TEP's ideal maintenance meld. It is not at altitude, on the contrary it suffers more from humidity (a poor medium for the ball to travel through), and has very little elevation changes (its in E. Texas).

Full disclosure: I am a golf professional of average to sllightly above average distance. The game here is to guess the total yardage from the tips this course is on the card based on the following:

#1   par 4          3-wood,   and  8 iron or less
#2   par 5          Driver,   iron second (almost no chance of hitting it in two)    at most a wedge left
#3   par 3           6 iron to middle
#4   par 4          Driver     6 iron
#5   par 5          Driver,   iron second,  gap or sand wedge
#6   par 4          Driver   at most 9 iron
#7   par 4          Driver    4-6 iron
#8   par 3            4-6 iron
#9   par 4          Driver       9 iron or less
#10 par 4          Driver       6-8 iron
#11 par 4          Driver       6-9 iron
#12 par 5          Driver      iron lay up (unless 3wood second)
                       wedge max left
#13 par 4          Driver    5 iron
#14 par 4          Driver    half wedge
#15 par 3           6 or 7 iron
#16 par 3           3wood or 1 iron
#17 par 5           Driver,  iron lay up (unless 3 wood second)
                        flip wedge
#18 par 4           Driver 5 or 6 iron

Q: What's the total length? And would you say this plays as a long golf course for the club professional?

Tony_Chapman

Re:How long is this course?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2004, 02:19:07 PM »
Andy - I would say your are over 7,000 but less than 7,200. I am sure you will tell us you play at a 6,400 yard course.  ;)

ChrisHervochon