News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Blake Conant

New member Blake Conant
« on: March 15, 2012, 10:35:43 AM »
Good Morning Everyone, just wanted to introduce myself to the board.  My name is Blake Conant and I'm a 2nd year graduate student at The University of Georgia and studying Landscape Architecture.  I'll be using this degree to springboard / bellyflop myself into golf course architecture.  I received an art degree in painting from The University of Montana, but truth be told I probably spent more time up there golfing.

I'll admit that I've lurked here for years.  There seems to be a conversation every week that I want to jump into and ask questions or give input.  It's a great resource and Ran and Ben have done an excellent job.  I'm happy to be a part of it. 

Joe Bausch

Re: New member Blake Conant
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2012, 10:41:16 AM »
Have you ever played Dismal River?

Welcome, Blake.  I'll be looking for your insights as a young landscape architecture student!
@jwbausch (for new photo albums)
The site for the Cobb's Creek project:  https://cobbscreek.org/
Nearly all Delaware Valley golf courses in photo albums: Bausch Collection

Howard Riefs

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2012, 10:46:08 AM »
Welcome, Blake!

Can you tell us about the course at UGA? Golfweek has high praise for it:

-- #6 public/resort course in Georgia: http://golfweek.com/news/2012/mar/12/golfweeks-best-courses-state-state/

-- #8 college campus course in country: http://golfweek.com/news/2011/sep/07/2011-golfweeks-best-campus-courses/

Is it worthy of those lofty rankings?
« Last Edit: March 15, 2012, 11:23:19 AM by Howard Riefs »
"Golf combines two favorite American pastimes: Taking long walks and hitting things with a stick."  ~P.J. O'Rourke

PCCraig

« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2012, 10:55:10 AM »
Welcome Blake!
H.P.S.

Mike Nuzzo

« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2012, 10:55:30 AM »
Welcome
Would you share a favorite painting of yours?