GolfClubAtlas.com > Golf Course Architecture

OT - Tony Finau on Feherty

(1/3) > >>

George Pazin:
Many apologies for the OT topic. I don't do this often on here, but I hope you'll understand why after reading this. Tony is my favorite golfer I've never met. Here's why:

I'm but a lowly self-employed t shirt printer, as many on here surely know. I've been printing for 25 years, and for one of my clients, a little over a decade. About 5 years ago, this particular client's mom stopped by the shop, with a couple sisters. They were and are wonderful Samoan women. The main one, I'd been printing for her son's soccer organization (they run a league for children who are disadvantaged in opportunities, literally driving a van around picking the kids up and driving them to fields to practice or play - and they won a national Futsal title a couple years ago!) for 10-15 years. He was a really nice guy, big and soft spoken, heart of gold. (Sadly, he passed at a young age from a heart attack.) Before he had passed, his mom stopped by one day with her sisters, asking about t's for their family reunion. They showed me an old shirt from a prior reunion, and I said, do you want yours to say "Finau" as this one does, and I pronounced it correctly. The mom looked at me surprised, and said, how do you know how to say that? And I smiled sheepishly and said, I'm kind of a golf nerd, and there's this guy who is a bit of a phenom named Tony Finau, and I assumed your name is pronounced the same way. She said to me: That's my nephew!

So I've followed his career more closely ever since. I've traded many emails with them as he climbed leaderboards with increasing regularity, though lately it's become so commonplace that I don't even bother anymore, I just do it when I see them, at work and elsewhere.