News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Mike_Clayton

Re: Royal Melbourne appoints a new Super
« Reply #50 on: March 31, 2009, 05:12:41 AM »
Brian.

Bobby Jones once said something like ' there is golf and then there is championship golf and the two don't bear much relationship to each other.'

I think you can say the same about the greens at RM.
I watched the 1972 World Cup and the 1974 Chrysler Classic. There greens were at their most freared then and the course really cemented its reputation in those events.
I saw Bob Charles knock a downhill six footer clean off the green at 6W and you know he didn't yip it.
Lee Trevino shot about 10 over par and finished 3rd in the Chrysler and the WC scores were high.
I started playing pro events there in 1981 and played the Heineken there in 2004.
The old Suttons greens were really hard and fast - I would guess in excess of 13 on the stimpmeter.
The new greens whilst a good tournament surface have unquestionably lost their fearsome look of the 70s and 80s when you were ALWAYS aware you could three putt from anywhere - even 3 feet if you hit a lip and spun it out and down a hill.
I have played a decent amount there over the years and have never seen the greens like they are during the week of a tournament. My guess is they are not within three feet of the championship speed - and that is the relationship with the Jones quote.

I played there on the weekend. The fairways were better than decent and you can't generalize about the greens because there are in such a varying state of repair - or disrepair.
For me it will be number 1 because of the number of world-class holes - a number unmatched in the country although I think Barnbougle is close and Lost Farm might be even closer.
If one course is going to knock RM from the premier place on any list it is Lost Farm.

I will leave the last question alone - but I do wonder why the left option for short hitters is gone.