News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Dave McCollum

Rosapenna-- Sandy Hills Photo Thread.  Donegal, Co. Ireland.  A Pat Ruddy design.

I stumbled on a bunch of photos and was wondering what to do with them.  It occurred to me to post them in case anyone was interested.  I’ve never done this before, so I just wrote this up and filed it away.  The photos are from October 2011.  The post begins with this disclaimer:  I didn’t play the course.  During this trip I played for eleven consecutive days in every condition imaginable (no snow) and discovered my personal limit for how much of my crappy game I can stand to witness.  This was probably the best weather I saw, but I didn’t feel like playing.  Instead, I borrowed a buggy and just took snapshots.

I’ll post a few shots and see if anyone wants me to continue.  When you are doing nothing but driving around a course snapping pics, you can do it pretty quickly and build up a hefty collection.   Not always, but I generally took a shot from the tee, the LZ, and the green.
I’m not sure if I was the only one on the course that day.  It seemed like that.  There were golfers around when I started out, but most of them were playing the other course called, I think, The Old Tom Morris Links.  I played that one the day before and found it fun and less demanding than my impression of Sandy Hills.  That’s what folks were saying around the Hotel as well.

I’m posting now, Master’s week for some insane reason, and will continue based on feedback.  I guess I have a perverse motivation to temp you with something other than a lush American golf fantasy.  Personally, I think of Augusta as a sort of Sistine Chapel.  Wonderful, but we only need one.  Definitely an approach we don’t need to franchise.   It’s my most hated week in golf TV.  Also my favorite.  Makes no sense.  So, call me crazy.

[ [/URL]