News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Pete Lavallee

Rancho Santa Fe CC photo tour
« on: June 24, 2010, 06:28:15 PM »
With the match play portion of the California Amateur being contested this week at Rancho Santa Fe CC, it's a good time for a tour. I've been saving these photos since 2006 when I played the course for my 50th birthday a week after they hosted the USGS Jr Am. The Club has an interesting history starting in 1906 when the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe RR Co. acquired 8000 acres and planted over one million eucalyptus seedling to be used eventually for railroad ties. A severe drought in 1912 killed almost 40% and in 1913 a severe frost killed half of the remaining trees. The discovery of creosote in 1910 made the project redundant. The RR Co. decided to sell parcels of the land as “gentlemen's country estates” and a dam built in1921 creating Lake Hodges, made the creation of town of Rancho Santa Fe possible. In 1927 the golf course project was offered to Dr. Alistair MacKenzie, but he had just received a $8800 commission to build Cypress Point Club a month earlier. He recommended his good friend Max Behr for the job, who received $9000 for design and construction of the golf course. The course was opened for play in June of 1929.

Needless to say the newly founded club had a difficult time when the Great Depression hit. Golfers from San Diego and LA where lured to play here for the price of $1 in 1932! The Santa Fe Land Co, realizing that a loss of the golf course would impact property values bought out the club and saw it through the tough times. The original Bing Crosby Clambakes were held here from 1937 to 1942, as Bing owned the Osuna Ranch nearby. To join the club one must be a property owner within the Rancho Santa Fe Covenant, certainly one of the most affluent communities in the US. In 2006 the initiation fee was $50,000 with dues of $5,000 per year.