News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

James Boon

The Grove, Hertfordshire
« on: April 28, 2008, 12:58:15 PM »
As a newbie I'm not sure if you guys have discussed The Grove by Kyle Phillips yet? I played it this weekend and thought I'd post a few photos. Hope you like them? Also a link which may be helpful:
http://www.thegrove.co.uk/golf/course_map.aspx

Hole 1
Cart path running just in front of the green is hidden from view in a hollow.

Hole 2
Down hill approach shot.

Looking back from behind the second green.

Hole 3

Hole 4
Should be a good hole, but with this part of the land being so flat you can hardly see the stream short of the green!

Hole 5

Contours on the approach to the fifth green

Hole 8
Bunker detail.

Hole 12
A very square edged green.

Hole 13

Hole 15
Bunker and mounding to left side of the fairway.

Hole 16

Hole 17
Into the setting sun so glad I hit my shots down the middle! An interesting greenside hollow.

Very expensive but an enjoyable round.

They work very hard to keep it in good condition but as its not a members course there were loads of pitch marks not repaired on greens. Also lots of GUR for new drainage on fairways and too many cart paths everywhere! I liked the bunkers and their surrounds which seemed to be made to look as if they had been there a while with collapsed edges and the variety of run off areas around the greens made for some fun when chipping. Some of the fairways had a little too much movement which may have worked well on a links like Kingsbarns, but not always so successful here?

I'd be interested to know what anyone else who has played it thinks?
2023 Highlights: Hollinwell (Notts), Brora, Aberdovey, Royal St Davids, Woodhall Spa, Broadstone, Parkstone, Cleeve, Painswick, Minchinhampton, Hoylake

"It celebrates the unadulterated pleasure of being in a dialogue with nature while knocking a ball round on foot." Richard Pennell

Tommy Williamsen